Smashing Stats: Singapore Open 2024

The 72-edition-old Singapore Open is the third Super 750 event of 2024.

Find out what’s at stake this year at one of badminton’s longest-running tournaments.

  • Women’s pair Shinta Mulia Sari/Yao Lei remain the most recent Singaporeans to emerge victorious in 2010.
  • Singapore, however, are the sole nation to sweep clean the honours – way back in 1961. This time, China and Japan possess seeds in all five categories.
  • Success will make Anthony Sinisuka Ginting the first player to win three seasons in a row since Zhang Ning in 2005.
  • Men’s singles is also the category in which Indonesia have the highest success rate over the last 10 editions.
  • Winning 56 per cent of those means no country has dominated a discipline like Indonesia starting 2013.
  • India, yet to succeed in men’s doubles, can count on top seeds Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty, winners of Thailand Open two weeks ago.
  • Korea’s final women’s doubles triumph came 33 years ago via Chung Myung Hee/Chung So Young. Second seeds Baek Ha Na/Lee So Hee and sixth seeds Kim So Yeong/Kong Hee Yong are their best bets to break through.
  • It’s also 21 years since they aced mixed doubles through three-time winners Kim Dong Moon/Ra Kyung Min. Fourth seeds Seo Seung Jae/Chae Yu Jung shoulder their hopes this season.
  • With four seeds – Chen Yu Fei (2), Han Yue (6), Wang Zhi Yi (7) and He Bing Jiao (8), China will hope to celebrate a women’s singles champion again after Sun Yu in 2015.
  • Malaysia have waited longer for winners in men’s singles and doubles. No players triumphed in the categories after Lee Chong Wei and Zakry Latif/Fairuzizuan Tazari in 2008.
  • Noriko Takagi remains the only Japanese to win mixed doubles, partnering Dane Svend Andersen to glory 56 years ago in 1968. Third seeds Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashino retain the chance to net a first for their country.
  • Repeat glory for their countrymen Takuro Hoki/Yugo Kobayashi will make them the first men’s pair in 26 years to defend their crown. Sigit Budiarto/Candra Wijaya did so in 1998.
  • Similarly, a Chen Qing Chen-Jia Yi Fan victory will see them emulate compatriots Yang Wei/Zhang Jiewen – the last women’s pair to win two on the spin in 2004.
  • Chen/Jia and An Se Young are the only top seeds have won their events.
  • Huang Ya Qiong, however, took the mixed doubles title with Lu Kai in 2017.

Standout Stat: Beginning 2011, the same four countries have produced winners in men’s and women’s doubles – China, Indonesia, Denmark and Japan.

Sari and Yao won the women’s doubles title for Singapore in 2010.

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor