Venue Address

Tianhe Gymnasium
299 Tianhe Rd, Tianhebei, Tianhe District, Guangzhou,
Guangdong Province, China

Qualification Period

The season-ending HSBC BWF World Tour Finals will be held in Bangkok, Thailand from 27-31 January 2021.

The list of athletes qualified for the HSBC BWF World Tour Finals will be confirmed at the conclusion of the TOYOTA Thailand Open on 24 January 2021.

The top eight players and pairs for each category in the HSBC BWF Road to Bangkok Rankings will be invited to compete, where only a maximum of 2 players or pairs per Member Association are eligible to participate in the World Tour Finals.

It is mandatory to enter both the YONEX Thailand Open and TOYOTA Thailand Open in order to be eligible to qualify for the HSBC BWF World Tour Finals.

The qualifying tournaments are as follows:

  • ECOGREEN Syed Modi International Badminton Championships 2019
  • PERODUA Malaysia Masters 2020
  • DAIHATSU Indonesia Masters 2020
  • Princess Sirivannavari Thailand Masters 2020
  • Barcelona Spain Masters 2020
  • YONEX All England Open 2020
  • DANISA Denmark Open 2020
  • YONEX Thailand Open 2021
  • TOYOTA Thailand Open 2021

About the World Tour

The HSBC BWF World Tour is a circuit of 26 tournaments held all around the world. These 26 tournaments are categorised as Grade 2 events in BWF’s tournament structure, below Grade 1 events such as the World Championships, Thomas Cup, Uber Cup, Sudirman Cup, etc.

The 26 tournaments on the HSBC BWF World Tour offer substantial prize money and ranking points for the players. Eight players and pairs in each of five categories (men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles and mixed doubles) who accumulate the highest ranking points at the end of the circuit will be invited to the year-ending finale, the HSBC BWF World Tour Finals in Guangzhou, which is a Level 1 event.

Ranking points won from each World Tour event are updated on the BWF website on the Tuesday following the event.

The first edition of the HSBC BWF World Tour Finals was held in Guangzhou in December 2018. This annual season finale is the ultimate goal for all players on the circuit.

Tournament Levels

The 26 tournament-strong HSBC BWF World Tour is made up of four levels: Super 1000, Super 750, Super 500 and Super 300. The following are the tournaments and their corresponding levels:

Level 2: Super 1000: Three Events: Yonex All England; Blibli Indonesia Open; Victor China Open

Level 3: Super 750: Five Events: Celcom Axiata Malaysia Open; Daihatsu Yonex Japan Open; Danisa Denmark Open; Yonex French Open; Fuzhou China Open

Level 4: Super 500: Seven Events: Perodua Malaysia Masters; Daihatsu Indonesia Masters; Yonex-Sunrise India Open; Toyota Thailand Open; Singapore Open; Korea Open; Yonex-Sunrise Hong Kong Open

Level 5: Super 300: Eleven Events: Princess Sirivannavari Thailand Masters; Yonex Swiss Open; Yonex German Open; Barfoot & Thompson New Zealand Open; Australian Badminton Open; Yonex US Open; Barcelona Spain Masters; Yonex Chinese Taipei Open; Macau Open; Syed Modi International; Gwangju Korea Masters.

Although the BWF Tour Super 100 is not part of the HSBC BWF World Tour, it is an important entry point for players into the HSBC BWF World Tour tournaments. The ranking points won from these 10 tournaments are included in the qualification to the HSBC BWF World Tour Finals.

Level 6: Super 100: Ten Events: Orleans Masters; Lingshui China Masters; Yonex Canada Open; Yonex Akita Masters; Russian Open; Vietnam Open; Hyderabad Open; Indonesia Masters Super 100; Yonex Dutch Open; SaarLorLux Open.