Smashing Stats: World Tour Finals 2023

The season’s grand finale is back in China after four years and here are some interesting facts about the HSBC BWF World Tour Finals 2023 – the first of four editions in the city of Hangzhou.

  • Since the World Tour Finals was introduced in 2018, China have dominated the tournament, winning nine titles across five seasons.
  • They remain the sole nation to have produced winners in all five categories.
  • Japan can join the club if Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashino emerge winners in Hangzhou.
  • Alongside China, the Japanese have contested the most finals – 11.
  • Including this year, Indonesia, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, Malaysia, Korea and Denmark have had representatives without fail at all five editions.
  • Of those, only Denmark have played at least one final – all in men’s singles – since 2020.
  • Except the injured Akane Yamaguchi, the other 2022 champions are back to defend their crowns.
  • Repeat glory will make Viktor Axelsen the first player to win three straight World Tour Finals.
  • Lee Chong Wei (2008-2010) is the only other men’s singles player to accomplish the feat since season-enders became a thing with the advent of the World Badminton GP Finals in 1983.
  • Indonesia on the other hand, have not toasted a champion in the category at a season finale since Joko Suprianto in 1995 but count on two players this time – Anthony Sinisuka Ginting and Jonatan Christie.
  • Surprisingly, the Indonesians have only one World Tour Finals title to show – Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Setiawan’s 2019 triumph.
  • Other than Axelsen, Liu Yu Chen, Chen Qing Chen/Jia Yi Fan, Zheng Si Wei/Huang Ya Qiong and Dechapol Puavaranukroh/Sapsiree Taerattanachai have the chance to win their third World Tour Finals title.
  • Puavaranukroh/Taerattanachai are also the only non-Chinese mixed pair to top the podium (2020-2021).
  • Chen Qing Chen was the last to win in two departments at the same season-concluding event (women’s and mixed doubles in 2016). Seo Seung Jae could emulate her this year.
  • If successful, Seo will be the first ever male shuttler to do a double at the same edition in the Finals series’ 40-year history.
  • Only Susi Susanti (six) and Li Lingwei (four) have more end-of-season women’s singles crowns than Tai Tzu Ying (three).

Standout Stat: This is Tai’s 10th season-ender, equalling Kamilla Rytter Juhl’s record for most appearances.

A 19-year-old Tai on the podium in 2013, after winning the BWF Super Series Finals.

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor