Angus Breaks Title Drought – Thailand Masters: Review

Hong Kong’s Ng Ka Long Angus broke a title drought that had stretched on for three years by winning the Princess Sirivannavari Thailand Masters 2020 today.

Angus took an hour to beat Japan’s Kenta Nishimoto, 16-21 21-13 21-12 to claim the title – his first since winning the Malaysia Masters in January 2017.

The third seed beat three Chinese on the way – Lin Dan in the opening round, Youth Olympic Games champion Li Shi Feng in the second, and second seed Shi Yu Qi in the semifinals.

Malaysia’s Ong Yew Sin and Teo Ee Yi.

Three-time world junior champion Kunlavut Vitidsarn created some ripples at the event, reaching the semifinals, which he lost to Nishimoto. Vitidsarn beat Vladimir Malkov in the opening round, followed by Soong Joo Ven and compatriot Suppanyu Avihingsanon.

In women’s singles, Akane Yamaguchi won her first title since the Japan Open last July, beating Korean teen An Se Young 21-16 22-20.

Yamaguchi had a tough semifinal, in which she overcame Carolina Marin 14-21 23-21 21-18.

Malaysia’s Ong Yew Sin/Teo Ee Yi won their first title since the Bitburger Open in November 2016, getting the better of Huang Kai Xiang/Liu Cheng 18-21 21-17 21-17.

England’s Marcus Ellis and Lauren Smith.

The Malaysians started with the upset of third seeds Choi Solgyu/Seo Seung Jae and went on to beat Ou Xuan Yi/Zhang Nan, Takuro Hoki/Yugo Kobayashi and Lee Jhe-Huei/Yang Po-Hsuan.

England’s Marcus Ellis/Lauren Smith captured the mixed doubles crown beating Indonesia’s Hafiz Faizal/Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja 21-16 13-21 21-16. The England duo had earlier won a thriller in their semifinals against Goh Soon Huat/Shevon Lai Jemie 19-21 21-19 24-22.

Women’s doubles No.1 pair Chen Qing Chen/Jia Yi Fan clinched their first title of the season beating Baek Ha Na/Jung Kyung Eun 17-21 21-17 21-15 in the longest match of the day at 86 minutes.


BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor